top of page
  • Justin Grimm

2017 MPL and 1st League Seasons Conclude

The 2017 Mongolian Premier League season concluded at the end of September with perennial powerhouse Erchim FC from Ulaanbaatar winning its third consecutive championship and qualifying for the 2018 AFC Cup. The club will enter in the first preliminary qualifying stage of the tournament. Last year Erchim became the first Mongolian club to qualify for the final round of the tournament, albeit only because Taiwan Power FC withdrew from the group stage and Tatung F.C. withdrew from the playoff round. Erchim ended up losing all 4 of its matches to its two North Korean opponents by a combined score of 0 to 21.

Perhaps the surprise team of the season was Athletic 220 FC. The club finished in third place in their inaugural season in the top flight after only being founded in 2016. The team was greatly boosted offensively by Naranbold Nyam-Osor who transferred from Khoromkhon FC prior to the season. The 2015 season's top scorer won the award again this year, scoring 17 goals. Other MPL debutant Goyo FC also fared well, finishing in 7th position and avoiding relegation.

Image property of the Mongolian Football Federation.

Khoromkhon FC and Ulaanbaataryi Unaganuud (who managed only two wins for the season) finished at the bottom of the table and were relegated to the Mongolia 1st League. Khoromkhon who has recently produced talent like Ganbold Ganbayar who is now with Puskas Akademia in Hungary finished third in the league only one season ago and participated in 2016 AFC Cup qualification.

2017 Mongolian 1st League

2017 Mongolian 1st League final table (Mongolian)

Arvis FC were crowned champions of the First League with with 43 points while Gepro FC finished second with 37 points for the season. Both clubs should compete in the Premier League next season. Arvis FC also produced the First League's top scorer with Erdene-Ochir Mungunbagana scoring 17 goals. J. Chingana of Khaan Khuns Crown Club also finished with 17 goals but lost the Golden Boot on the tie-breaker. Gepro FC's B.Batsuuri was named the league's top goalkeeper while N. Zorigt of Arvis FC won the award for best midfielder.

2017 Mongolian 1st League final table (English)

2017 Mongolian 1st League Scoring Chart (Mongolian)

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page