top of page
  • Justin Grimm

Ulaanbaatar City Win Super Cup 4-2, End Erchim's Dominance

In the six times that the Mongolian Super Cup has been played since its inception in 2011, Erchim FC has been dominant. The team from Power Plant #4 has won the yearly contest between the previous season's league champion and cup champions all six times.

That all changed today as the rising power of Mongolian football Ulaanbaatar City FC defeated Erchim FC 4-2, becoming just the second team ever to win the cup.

UB City was dominant in the first half, taking the lead after only eleven minutes and taking a 4-0 lead into the halftime break. Batbod Tugsbileg was first to strike for the 1-0 lead off of a long run down the left flank that was crossed into the box and eventually found the player's foot. Tugsbileg took a shot from near the penalty spot, tucking into the 'keeper's bottom right corner.

Only 21 minutes later, new Ivorian striker Arthur Kouassi corralled a short corner kick and again slipped the ball into the bottom right corner.

Ulaanbaatar City continued to pile it on before half time with Tsedenbal Tümenjargal scoring in the 35th minute and new Trinidadian addition Seon Power finishing the first half scoring only three minutes later.

UB City entered the second-half with one change to the lineup, Yesun-Erdene coming in for Temuujin.

Erchim FC benefited most from the break, looking much more dangerous in the second half.

Despite goals from Dorzhi in the 68th minute and Motohiro Kaneshiro in the 82nd, Erchim were unable to overcome the first half deficit and saw their string of consecutive Super Cups come to an end.

The full match can be viewed at:

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page