top of page
  • Justin Grimm

2018 MFF Golden Ball Award Recipients Named

Yesterday the Mongolian Football Federation held its annual Golden Ball Awards ceremony. As has become custom in recent years, a high-profile player was the guest of honour. This year's attendee was Denmark national team caps record holder and former Premier League goalkeeper Peter Schmeichel.

The award winners are below.

2018 Best XI

Goalkeeper: Enkhtaivan Munkh-Erdene

Defenders: Davaajav Battur, Daginaa Turbat, Bayasgalang Garidmagnai, Norjmoogiin Tsedenbal

Midfielders: Baljinnyam Batbold, Khürelbaataryn Tsend- Ayuush, Janchiv Sundorj, Mönkh-Erdeniin Tögöldör

Strikers: Batbayar Khash-Erdene, Nyam-Osor Naranbold

Best Male Player


Nyam-Osor Naranbold

Norjmoogiin Tsedenbal

Khurelbaataryn Tsend-Ayuush


Norjmoogiin Tsedenbal

The Ulaanbaatar City FC midfielder won the MFF Super Cup to kick off the 2018 season and scored the game tying goal for the Blue Wolves against Guam that saw Mongolia advance to Round 2 of the EAFF Championship for the first time.

Best Female Player


A. Altankhuyag

The Arvis FC player was a key figure for both her club team and the women's national team. This is her second time winning the award.

Goal of the Season


Altansükh Temüüjin

The most spectacular goal of the 2018 season as voted on by Mongolian football dignitaries, coaches, and the media was scored by Altansükh Temüüjin.

Best Men's Team Manager


Michael Weiss

The German coach of the senior men's national team led the Blue Wolves to an unprecedented level of success including first friendly victory, largest margin of victory, and first time qualifying for Round 2 of the EAFF Championship. He's also done much to professionalize the team and increase the number of matches played.

Best Female's Team Manager


Ts. Ganbold

Ganbold was at the helm of both the women's national team and Mongolian Dream club for the 2018 season. He steered the national team as it participated in Asian Cup qualifiers for the first time. The team had a successful run, matching the men's performance in their tournament, by reaching the second round.

Best Foreign Player


Sangajiev Dorjji

Tatsuya Nishio

Norito Hashiguchi


Tatsuya Nishio

Tatsuya Nishio became the second straight Japanese player to win the award in its two years of existence. The Deren FC striker was also the league's top scorer this season. He was not present at the award ceremony.

Referee of the Season


R. Jargalsaikhan

After only five years as a referee, Jargalsikhan was has become a top-level referee for the MFF and Asian Football Federation.

Check out 2017's winners here:

All images property of their owners.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page