top of page
  • Justin Grimm

2023 Women's National League Details Announced

Image property of the MFF

Today the Mongolian Football Federation and its Women's Football Council announced details regarding the 2023 Women's National Football League season.

The season will kick off on 22 June with five team participating the in the short three-round season. Each club will play twelve matches. Last year's champion Storm FC is joined by reigning runner-up Kharaatsai FC. Khad FC, Tuuliin Tom Tunuud FC, and Erdenes Ilch FC round out the field.

Notable absences from the league include Deren FC and Arvis FC who have combined for five of the league's eight championships since its founding in 2015. Erdenes Ilch will be a first-time participant in the women's league. The club was founded in 2020. The women's team will surely seek to replicate the men's side success which includes recently winning the First League.

Many fans will see this season's format as a step backwards for women's football in the country. Last year's competition featured seven clubs with each team playing eighteen matches. The number of participants this year is the second lowest in league history. The league peaked at twelve participants in 2021.



Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page