top of page
  • Justin Grimm

Wild MPL Season Ends with FCU Champions

Image property of the MFF

A wild Mongolian Premier League season concluded on Sunday, 2 July 2023, with FC Ulaanbaatar officially crowned as champions. Deren FC and Bulgan SP Falcons were runners-up and third-place finishers, respectively.

While FC Ulaanbaatar celebrated its first title since 2011, another club representing the capital caused chaos in the league standings. Ulaanbaatar City withdrew from the league with three matchdays remaining. The Mongolian Football Federation made the decision to nullify all of the club's matches, reducing each club to 24 official matches played.

Wild accusations including corruption, apathy, unpaid wages, and visa issues, among others, were lobbed back and forth between UB City, players, and the league organizers for most of the season. However, FC Ulaanbaatar has no shadow hanging over its title as the club would have easily won the league with or without UB City's matches factored in.

Ulaanbaatar City is excluded from the final standings meaning BCH Lions officially finishes in 9th place. BCH Lions, who should have been automatically relegated, are thrown another lifeline as they will face First League runners-up Bavarians FC in a promotion/relegation play-off on 5 July . Last season the club was reprieved from relegation thanks to the withdraw of Athletic 220 FC. The season prior, the club was losing a relegation play-off with Blue Wolves before the club was unable to field a side in the second leg.


Click image to enlarge.

Top Scorers

Click image to enlarge.

Individual Awards

Click image to enlarge.



Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page