top of page
  • Justin Grimm

WNT to Compete in 2024 EAFF Championship Qualification

Image property of the EAFF

At the EAFF Competitions Committee meeting held on 17 April 2023, details regarding the host and format of the upcoming East Asian Football Confederation Women's Championship were proposed and approved.

Macau will host Round 1 qualifying matches. Joining Mongolia and Macau as entrants in the preliminary rounds are Chinese Taipei, DPR Korea, Guam, Hong Kong, and the Northern Mariana Islands. If the format of previous editions stays the same, PR China, South Korea, and Japan will automatically qualify for the finals.

Dates for the tournament were not announced, but if the format from the 2019 tournament remains the same, Round 1 should kick off in September 2023 and Round 2 should begin in December 2023..

This will mark the second time that the female Blue Wolves have competed in the competition. Previously, the team took part in qualifying for the 2019 tournament shortly after the Mongolian female side was first organized. Mongolia were surprise winners of Round 1, going undefeated against Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and Macau before being eliminated in the second round.

Mongolia last saw action in April 2023 for 2024 Olympic qualification. The team earned a 2-2 draw with Singapore before falling to Thailand 0-6 en route to ultimately failing to advance to the next round.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page